Tuesday, October 13, 2009

The Nobel Peace Prize

Up until last Friday, there had only been three U.S. Presidents who had won the Nobel Peace Prize:
Theodore Roosevelt  (Republican : 1901-1907) in 1906 for his efforts in mediating the Russo-Japanese War (1904-1905)

Woodrow Wilson  (Democrat : 1913-1921) in 1919 "in recognition of his Fourteen Points peace program and his work in achieving inclusion of the Covenant of the League of Nations in the 1919 Treaty of Versailles."

Jimmy Carter  (Democrat-: 1977-1981) won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002 "for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development."
Now Barack Obama has been added to the list for his…..what?  He’s only been in office nine months.  What exactly has he done that deserves this kind of recognition? “A little less conversation, a little more action please”.   What about Ronald Reagan? I seem to remember the Berlin Wall coming down during his term of office, and um, Russia no longer being a threat to the planet.  Those were kinda big deals.  He never won the Nobel Peace Prize and here stands Obama, whose presidency began less than two weeks before the Feb. 1 nomination deadline for the prize and has yet to yield concrete achievements in peacemaking.  What's going on?

No comments: